Instructor Training

Tobacco Marijuana & E-Cigarettes Course (TMEC)
& Impaired Drivering Education Course (IDEC)

What is TMEC?

The Tobacco Marijuana & E-Cigarettes Course (TMEC) is a Health, Safety, & Impaired Driving Educational Program. TMEC was developed by Certified Prevention Specialists in partnership with schools, law enforcement, treatment and medical providers in Oregon to educate youth and adults (ages 13 and above) about the consequences of substance use and impaired driving. TMEC was piloted in collaboration with Redmond School District and High Desert ESD Driver Education Programs in 2016, launched statewide in 2017, revised in 2019, and revamped as an animated video curriculum in 2021.

What’s new?

  • We just updated and released an animated 2021 revision of the 3-hour TMEC curriculum.
  • We also created a 90-minute Impaired Driving Education Course (IDEC)!

Who is licensed to teach TMEC or IDEC?

Verified youth-serving agencies, Schools, Educators, Driver Education Programs, Law Enforcement Agencies, DREs, SROs, Prevention Coordinators, Treatment Providers, Medical Staff, Church Leaders, Parent Leaders, and Teen Leaders.

How do I register and pay?

  • Already licensed? If you have already purchased a license to teach TMEC or IDEC, the instructor training is included. You can register for training inside of your account on our site to avoid being requested to pay again.
  • Not licensed yet? If you prefer to attend the instructor training first before determining if your agency will be licensed, the cost is $50 per person. Register and pay here!

When is instructor training held?

Training for both our programs (TMEC and IDEC) is online the 3rd Tuesday of each month. Training covers both programs. We recently expanded to serve all states and U.S. territories, so any.

Live Online Training Dates

Held 3rd Tuesday of each month over Zoom.
Must pre-register to attend.

8am-12pm HST / 9am-1pm AKST / 10am-2pm PST / 11am-3pm MST / 12pm-4pm CST / 1pm-5pm EST

July 20, 2021

August 17, 2021

September 21, 2021

October 19, 2021

November 16, 2021

December 21, 2021

Where is this training located?

We provide live training online to make it more accessible for everyone. Want us to come to your community? If you have 15 people minimum, cover the venue & A/V- we’ll come to you!

 

Need financial assistance?

To determine eligibility, please click here to complete our financial assistance form.

Are you an agency in need of a purchase order?

Courses, curriculum, and materials cannot be accessed until payment is received in full.
Please click here to request a purchase order